top of page

Curious and Curiouser

Curious and curiouser was a workshop on opening us up to the different forms of research. We were set a number of tasks to test our research and creative skills. We were put into groups of threes and given three objects to research and try and connect to each other. Together we played the word association game to discover the connections the objects had to each other. Bellow is our mind map,

These tasks opened me up to the many different ways of researching and showed us that research didn't have to involve reading books and scrolling through google. Our next task set across the easter holidays was to create a presentation on where the phrase 'A HIVE MIND' would lead us. Inspired by the word association game I'd played before I decided to do something similar. I asked a friend what they thought of when they read the words 'A HIVE MIND', they replied with ALIENS, I then asked a different person what they thought of when they saw the word ALIEN and so on. After I had collected a substantial amount of words, I started to write open ended questions or unusual facts about each topic on the back of the octagon shapes I had created for them. These acted like conversation starters and sparked more ideas. I presented the hive of word association in my presentation and it went down well. People were interested in the thought behind it and I was interested in people responses. What I learnt from this project is that talking to other people and asking questions can spark some interesting ideas. I think what I have created is just a starting point and I can continue this idea in the future to aid me in other projects.

bottom of page