top of page

Final Major Improvement Project

For my Final Major Improvement Project I decided to create a entirely positive newspaper. The idea stemmed from experimenting with newspaper headlines and typography. I read somewhere that positive media inspires people to be more positive and happy. I think this is really important, I believe we should be informed of the good things happening globally. I also believe the layout of newspapers today is boring and overall echoes the negativity of their content. I wanted to create something vibrant colourful and interesting.

After the intermediate crit I was encouraged to think about the content of the newspaper and where I sourced my stories. I decided to ask other people over social media what sort of content they would want to see in a positive newspaper and if they'd read any stories in the last month they had found inspiring. I didn't receive enough of a response in the time frame I had, although their seemed to be a lot of interest in a positive newspaper. I did however get more of a response when I asked for people to send me acts of kindness they or others had committed and included them in my paper.

When thinking about layout I stuck to the typical newspaper grid layout, I thought it was a clear and concise layout and good starting point to work around. However looking back, and after my final crit, I realise now I could have played around with it more and pushed it further. I would like to improve on this, however I'm not sure where to start and think it would require a whole new approach. I am happy with what I have created and I think it has had the effect I intended. The idea is simply to promote positivity in a format that is otherwise known for having negative connotations, and in this I think I have been fairly successful.

 
 

 

 

bottom of page